John Boy
Available

Website built & Sponsored by:

ID No.: D.98.20

Age: 11 years old

Sex: Male

Breed: Yorkshire Terrier x

Colour: Black and Tan

Reason In: Unwanted pet - I cannot be rehomed to Chudleigh as this is where I came from.

Can I live with Dogs?

No – I am looking for a home with no other dogs.

Can I live with Cats?

No – I am looking for a home with no cats, birds or small animals.

Can I live with Children?

Yes – I am suitable to live with a family with older children (13yrs+).

Hi there, I’m John Boy. Sadly I have had a lot of upheaval in the last few months and as a result of this I have found it difficult to settle. I have travelled a long way and lost the comfort and familiarity of everything I knew. Unsurprisingly this has left me with some anxieties, the most prevalent is that I panic when I think I’m going to be left on my own. I will do what I think it takes to stop anyone leaving me behind, so I would love to meet someone who has dealt with similar issues and can not only help me learn how to cope on my own when needed but someone who can be with me at all times until I am ready to spend some time by myself.

I promise you that I’m a really sweet and affectionate chap. I enjoy fuss and attention from people I know but I may be a little shy when I meet someone new. Despite being an older gent at 11 years old I’m still playful and I love nothing more than to throw some toys around for myself.

I am highly motivated by food and this is the best way to train me. I can sit when I am asked but I really would love to learn some new things as training is very stimulating and rewarding even for us older dogs. One thing you must know is that I don’t share food and I’m not afraid to let you know it. For this reason my new owners will need experience with resource guarding behaviour to prevent accidents in the future.

I really enjoy getting out and about for some fresh air. I doesn’t always like other dogs (usually un-neutered males) so I will need to stay on the lead but I don’t mind this. I like to explore new places where there are lots of exciting smells and fun things to do. I’d be very happy as the only pet in the home.

What kind of home am I looking for?

My new owners must be very experienced with dogs and have dealt with issues including separation anxiety and resource guarding. I will need a very secure garden or yard so I have some outside space that I can go off the lead in, the fences will need to be at least 5 feet high and no hedges as I would be able to get through.

Are you interested in adopting John Boy?

Online Adoption Application Form

Current Status: Available - Please click on the icon above to complete an online adoption application form.

Hi Future Owner!

All you need to do is email reception@gablesfarm.org.uk or call them on 01752 331602 and ask about me.
Love, John Boy

Help us spread the Word

Please share this with your friends!