Milkshake
Reserved

Website built & Sponsored by:

ID No.: D,58.23

Age: 14 months old

Sex: Male

Breed: Border Collie

Colour: Black and white

Reason In: Sign over - I cannot be rehomed to the area of Penny Cross or Plympton, as this is where I came from.

Can I live with Dogs?

Yes - I must find a home with another active and playful dog.

Can I live with Cats?

No - I am looking for a home with no cats birds or other small animals.

Can I live with Children?

Yes - I am suitable to live with a family with older children (16+).


Take a look at my video

Helllloooooooo. I’m Milkshake. I’m a very excitable young man and I have loads and loads of energy. Not surprising as I am a border collie after all. What in the world am I doing looking for a new home, I hear you ask. Well, let me tell you my story. I was bought from a private breeder by a family who kept me for 3 months before realising that they could not cope with such a high energy dog while raising a young family. I was rehomed to another family who also had young children but I was only there for 6 days before I found myself here. As you can imagine I’m a bit confused and I’ve not had chance to settle anywhere before I’ve had to move again. At the moment I don’t know if I’m coming or going and I can’t tell my ear from my elbow!

Thankfully I’m safe here at Gables until they can find me the right home with people who have the skills and experience to care for me properly. I’m a sweet boy who loves a snuggle and I’m more than happy meeting anyone who wants to come and say hello to me. I can get a bit over excited sometimes which means I can be a bit mouthy but as a young dog this is very normal. If you just ignore me I will stop doing it very quickly.

I very much enjoy playing with toys and I’m more than happy to take a toy off to my bed and play on my own. I’m also more than happy to play a game of tug and I I’ll happily give you the toy back if you give me something in return.

By now I’m sure you are wondering why I can’t live with children. Well, my achilles heel in life is food. In my previous home and during my behavioural assessment here I did show guarding behaviour around food. I just can’t share and I can become very defensive if you go near me or try to touch me or the food when I am eating. It’s vital that this is managed well as unfortunately I’ve been told off in the past for communicating this to other humans and this has only served to make me even more defensive.

My adoptive family must have owned collies in the past and everyone in the home must have dealt with guarding issues with their own dog before. I must also be fed separately from other animals but I adore having a play mate so as long as we don’t have to have food near each other then we will have the most amazing relationship. For this reason I must go to a home with another playful dog to be my new best friend.

Are you interested in adopting Milkshake?

Online Adoption Application Form

Current Status: Reserved - Please click on the icon above to complete an online adoption application form.

Hi Future Owner!

All you need to do is email reception@gablesfarm.org.uk or call them on 01752 331602 and ask about me.
Love, Milkshake

Help us spread the Word

Please share this with your friends!