Moley
Reserved

Website built & Sponsored by:

ID No.: D.96.20

Age: 1 year old

Sex: Male

Breed: Crossbreed

Colour: White

Reason In: Unwanted pet - I cannot be rehomed to Whitleigh as this is where I came from.

Can I live with Dogs?

Yes - I must find a home with another dog.

Can I live with Cats?

Maybe - I have never lived with cat but I would consider it. Confident cats only.

Can I live with Children?

Yes – I am suitable to live with a family with older children (13+). (1 child only)

Hello! I’m Moley. I first arrived at Gables in September having been severely neglected. I was harbouring such a huge flea population that I had become anaemic and my hair was so matted that it had to be cut as soon as I arrived. I was in a lot of pain with the tightly matted hair pulling at my skin but I was also very scared as I didn’t know what was going on. When the clippers upset a big colony of fleas by my tail I was bitten all over by them and I panicked. I span in circles snapping and biting at my own tail with the pain. Unfortunately I really hurt myself and I had to go straight to the vet to have the rest of my hair cut off and my wounds treated under sedation.

When I returned to Gables I was feeling very sorry for myself. I was wary of everyone, scared, cold because my hair was all gone and very sad. I didn’t understand that these people where here to help me and I didn’t want anyone to touch me. I continued to bite my own tail as a way of coping with how stressed I was feeling and because I had wounded it so many times I had to wear a cone. I couldn’t go for a walk because I panicked every time I felt the lead or harness on me which caused me to bite at my tail again. My tail had become sore and infected and in the end I have to have it amputated, as it was thought this may help me. I was also put on some medication to make me feel better. Once my tail had healed and the medication had kicked in I started to feel a lot happier. I began to play with toys, I really enjoyed spending time with my favourite humans and I even started to appreciate going for walks. I made a few dog friends too (I love dogs) and I even had some lovely play fights off the lead with other dogs.

I am still on the medication but I no longer need to wear the cone as I have stopped trying to bite at myself. However, when I feel REALLY stressed about something I will still do it from time to time. I am not a fan of the vet either, but then who is? I can be anxious when meeting men so will bark at them but I soon come around when they offer me a tasty treat.

I’m a very special boy, I have been through a lot and I will probably always be a complicated character. It has been a long road to get me ready to find a new home so I am looking for someone very special and understanding to call my new pawrents.

I am looking for a very quiet home with no more than one child that must be aged 13 or over. I am so happy in the company of other dogs that I think living with one would be a huge help so my new home must already have a dog that would want to be my new play mate. My new pawrent/s must have owned small snappy dogs in the past as I am much too complicated for first time owners. You will also need to realise that the road ahead is going to be tricky, challenging and I will need lots of support, care and understanding.

Moley in September 2020

And Moley now

 

Are you interested in adopting Moley?

Online Adoption Application Form

Current Status: Reserved - Please click on the icon above to complete an online adoption application form.

Hi Future Owner!

All you need to do is email reception@gablesfarm.org.uk or call them on 01752 331602 and ask about me.
Love, Moley

Help us spread the Word

Please share this with your friends!